Become a part of the mission

Our team, the Arggonauts, have reached the semi-finals of the Shell Ocean Discovery XPRIZE as the only German competitors. Our aim is to break new innovative ground and to develop technology that has the potential to lead future deep-sea exploration in the right direction.

You have the opportunity to support us during this competition and to contribute to the exploration of the deep sea.

The Mission

The Shell Ocean Discovery XPRIZE offers a total prize award of 7 million dollars and encourages scientists and businesses from around the world to find new solutions to explore and survey the deep sea. Because of the deep sea’s extreme environment, this type of exploration has always been far too expensive. The aim of this competition therefore is to help overcome these hurdles of current deep-sea exploration.

Using unmanned deep-sea robots developed by the participants, the teams compete in two rounds of three tasks each within a fixed timeframe – one at 2,000 and one at 4,000 metres below sea level. The tasks are:

01

Creating a high-definition 3D map of the ocean floor

02

Taking a high-definition photograph of a predetermined target object

03

Identifying archaeological, biological or geological features of the ocean floor

About us

Together as a team, we tackle the mission to explore the deep sea. Our team consists of 26 employees from seven different countries, including scientists from the IOSB, freelance associates and students. This mixture of different perspectives and opinions provides an incentive for us and a foundation for the development of new and efficient ideas and solutions. We’ve got plenty of energy and enthusiasm and are passionate about what we do.

Our
Supporters

Instagram

Ein Teil der Mission werden

Unser Team, die Arggonauts, haben als einziges Team aus Deutschland das Halbfinale des Shell Ocean Discovery XPRIZE erreicht. Unser Ziel ist es, neue Innovationspfade einzuschlagen und eine Technologie zu entwickeln, die das Potenzial hat, der Tiefseeforschung den Weg in die Zukunft zu weisen. Sie haben die Chance uns während des Wettbewerbs zu unterstützen und so einen Teil zur Erforschung der Tiefsee beizutragen!

Die Mission

Der mit insgesamt 7 Millionen Dollar dotierte Shell Ocean Discovery XPRIZE, ruft Wissenschaftler und Unternehmen aus der ganzen Welt dazu auf, neue Lösungen für die Erforschung und die Vermessung der Tiefsee zu finden. Durch die extremen Bedingungen, die in der Tiefsee herrschen, war deren Erforschung bis jetzt viel zu teuer. Der Wettbewerb soll dazu beitragen, die Grenzen der heutigen Tiefseeforschung zu überwinden.

In zwei Runden müssen die Teams mithilfe von selbstentwickelten unbemannten Tiefseerobotern in 2.000 bzw. 4.000 Metern Tiefe innerhalb eines festgelegten Zeitraums jeweils drei Aufgaben erfüllen:

01

Anfertigen einer hochauflösenden 3D-Karte des Meeresbodens

02

Anfertigen von hochauflösenden Bildern eines vorgegebenen Zielobjekts

03

Identifikation archäologischer, biologischer oder geologischer Besonderheiten am Meeresgrund

Über uns

Gemeinschaftlich im Team, gehen wir die Mission der Entdeckung der Tiefsee an. Unser Team umfasst 26 Mitarbeiter aus sieben verschiedenen Nationen, darunter Wissenschaftler des IOSB, freiberufliche Mitarbeiter und Studenten. Unterschiedliche Perspektiven und Meinungen sind für uns ein Ansporn und die Grundlage, um neue und effiziente Ideen und Lösungen zu entwickeln. Wir sind voller Energie und Begeisterung und brennen für das was wir tun.

Unsere
Unterstützer

Instagram